Skip to content

Dorchester County

Dorchester County


About Us

Established in 1897, Dorchester County was formed from land previously located in Colleton County. The name “Dorchester” was indirectly derived from Dorchester, England by way of Dorchester, Massachusetts.

Dorchester County boasts award-winning school districts and one of the longest free-flowing blackwater rivers in North America. Dorchester County’s natural beauty and unwavering sense of community are what makes it the best county in South Carolina to build a business and raise a family.

Dorchester County is home to the:

City of North Charleston
Town of Summerville
Town of Ridgeville
Town of St. George (County Seat)
Town of Harleyville
Town of Reevesville
Town of Lincolnville
Communities of Dorchester, Grover, Knightsville, Ladson and Texas

Dorchester County operates under a Council-Administrator form of government and has over 900 full-time employees. A seven-member County Council is elected by district and provides policy direction to the County.

The County Administrator serves as County Council's agent in administrative matters. This position has oversight over all County government operations with the exceptions of departments governed by elected officials and special districts.

The County Administrator is assisted by a Chief Financial Officer, Deputy Administrator of Public Safety and Assistant Administrator of Community Services.


Gallery Image 637563261408270000_010721-012558.png
Gallery Image 636826387636430000.png

Scroll To Top